The Lists

In preparation for Newcastle, M. and I have compiled a group list for things we’ll probably need to purchase when we arrive. The flat we found is furnished, so we don’t have to spend any time thinking about that part of the move. In my phone, this is named the “England Starter Pack.”

ENGLAND STARTER PACK

Individual items:

  • bus ticket for the year
  • bus ticket holder (so it doesn’t rip, get wet, fade, etc)
  • bed sheets
  • laundry basket
  • mattress topper
  • towels
  • pillow
  • lighting
  • flashlight
  • candles & lighter

Shared items:

  • baking sheets
    parchment paper
    aluminum foil
    plastic wrap
    paper towels
  • laundry detergent
  • shampoo & conditioner
  • toilet paper
    tampons
  • cleaning supplies
  • bandaids
    aspirin
    cold medicine
    hydrogen peroxide
    gauze
    cotton swabs & pads
  • kettle
    hand towels
    pots and pans
    oven mitt
    utensils
    dish set
    spices
    whisk
    spatula
    rice cooker
  • clothes drying rack
  • toilet scrubber
  • plunger
  • printer
  • tool kit
  • sewing kit

We’ll see just how accurate this list is when we move in. Given that I’m moving from Arizona and she’s moving from Calgary, our lists for clothes we might need to buy is going to differ.

UPDATE

Now that I’ve been here for about four days, I can safely say I regret not packing the following items:

  • knitting needles
  • notebooks
  • favorite mug(s)
  • pencil cup(s)
  • colored pencils
  • sketchbook
  • lots of nice floss (it’s surprisingly hard to find in shops here…)
  • french press (Guh. I even specifically said I would. Oops.)
  • 1 liter bottles of shampoo and conditioner
  • back up Splat hair dye
  • textbooks:
    • Radiometry
    • Numerical Methods
  • yoga mat
  • AA batteries
  • facial moisturizer

Things I’m really glad I brought:

  • watercolor paint and brushes
  • acrylic paint and brushes
  • hair care items
  • fancy pantsy laundry detergent
  • basic perfumes
  • extension cord!
  • grocery bags/totes
  • a minimalist wardrobe

A good chunk of these lists are more personal to me than general like the things above. I probably should’ve focused on what I need as an individual person more than general needs items. I really left a lot out of my suitcase on the assumption things would be easy to find and buy here. My bad.

I really miss having a car and quick access to places like Target. There isn’t much like a target here other than Wilko, but even then the selection doesn’t compare. This is making me appreciative of the US more than I thought it would and earlier than I thought it would. In all the years I’ve spent extended amounts of time away from Arizona, I’ve never been homesick before. I’m not homesick yet, and I’m not entirely sure if it will ever hit me completely… but there’s a first time for everything, right?

Always,
Jam

The Lists

Leave a Reply

